Mail Magazine


Past Events


Meet the Japanese Contemporary Musician Vol.6 Ken'ichi Nakagawa×Sound×Art×Performance Part1

  • Date:
    15:00 - 21:00
    Adults: 2,000JPY, Student: 1,600JPY (Free Seating/Reservations required/Payment at the reception desk.)
    Tokyo Metropolitan Foundation for History and Culture, Tokyo Wonder Site
    Asahi Beer Arts Foundation
    Tokyo Wonder Site Shibuya
    Please send your name, phone number, date/time/name of the
    performance and number of tickets by
    Email to or FAX to 03-5766-3742

    Booking of each performance will be closed by 17:00 on the day
    before the performance or as soon as the seats are fully
    reserved. For the ticket information, see this website.
TWS holds "Meet the Japanese Contemporary Musician" program, which offers a new space for collaborative creation between both masters and up-and-coming artists, giving the young an opportunity to make something new with those who have already walked the path they seek to tread. This time, concerts will be taken place by Ken'ichi Nakagawa, known as pianist and conductor.


Concert Details
After 3.11. Symbol of Peace?Bird? Olivier Messiaen《Catalogue d'Oiseaux》

Long-awaited project comes true!
Olivier Messiaen's huge piece of "Catalogue d'Oiseaux" will be played whole part, and between each music, many creators will give their performances. Is it "Music" or "Bird"? Soul of the sound will have been appeared in this unique project!

Date: From December 5 (Mon.), 2011 15:00 (Doors Open 14:30) to 21:00
Venue: Tokyo Wonder Site Shibuya

Artist: Ken'ichi Nakagawa (piano)
Guest: Ei Arakawa & Sergei Tcherepnin×Noritaka Ito×Yuichiro Tamura×mamoru and more.

Program: Olivier Messiaen 《Catalogue d'Oiseaux》

(Please note that the program and guests are subject to change.)

Meet the Japanese Contemporary Musician Vol.6 Ken'ichi Nakagawa×Sound×Art×Performance Part 2
After 3.11. Pray ? John Cage 《Sonatas and Interludes》

Ken'ichi Nakagawa challenges his limitation of physical capacity.
70mins X 10 times performance of "Sonatas and Interludes", Milestone of the piece for prepared piano and 10 cross-genre performances will be mixed together in this 24 hours last project! Let's join into truly experimental time and space, coming and going between TWS Shibuya and Aoyama.

for the details of this concert, visit here

Tokyo Wonder Site (TWS) hosts an annual sound festival which presents truly experimental projects. This year, from all over the world, many next-generation artists who keep on seeking new expression will be gathered to Tokyo.
Under the unprecedented disaster, the Great East Japan Earthquake, what kind of direction should Tokyo, and indeed Japan as a whole, take in the future? What are the "experiments" that are truly required right now ?
24 projects will be given by the participants who are selected from an open application process, award winners and invited artists.
In addition, Ensemble Modern & TWS Academy and Ken'ichi Nakagawa's performances will be held at the same time.

for the details of the Festival, visit here